October 1, 2023

Launch Trend

Upgrade Yourself Everyday!

7 Chakras: Importance, benefits on health and mind

Spread the love


A conscious mind is always responsible for how things are perceived in reality, and represents everything that is possible for us to experience. All of our senses, perceptions, and different states of awareness can be divided into seven categories, and each of these categories are connected or associated with a specific chakra. What determines the direction of our energy is the frequency of our chakras that flow according to the energy that’s either drawn into our body or released outwardly.

Chakras are energy vortices which have physical, psychological and spiritual functions. In fact, these centres can be compared with the autonomous or sympathetic nervous system in us. This nervous system controls the involuntary activity of the body and is normally not under the influence of our conscious mind: quite the same as our integrated chakra system. Chakras are directly associated with the physical, mental and emotional health of a person.

According to saints and yogis of India, there are seven chakras located along the spine, each one is associated with a different set of organs and systems. The locations of our chakras correspond with the places on our body where essential systems use a lot of energy. They form a subtle and psychic network of energy through which the body, mind, and spirit operates as one holistic system. The chakras are the subtle energy blueprint for the physical manifestation of the human form.

The sole purpose of gaining awareness of the chakra system is to assist the individual in achieving a state of harmony within oneself.

All seven chakras have their own particular colour, light and element associated with each. These are the colours we see in the rainbow – violet, indigo, green, yellow, orange, blue and red. Each of these seven chakras vibrates with a specific frequency related to their colour. The decisions we make and how we perceive and respond to the conditions in our life are regulated by these vibrations.

Aromatherapy can be used to balance and harmonise chakras so that all the chakras are vibrating at their optimal level. Essential oils can be used in baths, in massages and even in diffusers, to help restore the balance and strengthen any weaknesses. These oils are nature’s best kept secrets and are referred to as ‘essence’. These oils are basically the botanical extracts of various plant materials such as flowers, herbs, roots, leaves etc. Each contains its own mix of active ingredients, which determine what purpose the oil is used for. Aromatherapy works through us – through our sense of smell. Our sense of smell transcends the conscious level, to reach the subconscious level and is linked to our mind. The fragrance in the oil stimulates the nerves in the nose, sending impulses to the limbic system of our brain that controls our memory and emotions associated with that smell.

There are seven chakras:

  1. Root Chakra (Muladhar Chakra)
  2. Sacral Chakra (Svadisthan Chakra)
  3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura Chakra)
  4. Heart Chakra (Anahata Chakra)
  5. Throat Chakra (Vishuddhi Chakra)
  6. Third Eye Chakra (Ajna Chakra)
  7. Crown Chakra (Sahastrar Chakra)

1) Root Chakra (Muladhar Chakra) 

Location: Base of the spine
Colour associated: Red
The element associated: Earth
Physical link: Responsible for muscular and skeletal system
Psychological link: It is the centre for self-preservation and self-survival instincts. Also determines how grounded one is
Spiritual link: It is the home of Kundalini
If the chakra is weak or malfunctions: The person tends to procrastinate and cannot see plans through; and when it is over, an active person is likely to suffer from insomnia, restlessness and hyperactivity
Essential oils to balance the chakra: Cedar wood, vetiver and patchouli. Use any of these in your bath water or diffuser or massage oil

2) Sacral Chakra (Svadisthan Chakra) 

Location: Pubic Region
Colour associated: Orange
Element associated: Water
Physical function: Reproductive organs, bladder and intestine
Psychological function: Creativity, sexual emotions, enjoyment of life
Spiritual function: Oneness
If the chakra is weak or malfunctions: It can create urinary problems and sexual ailments; it can also lessen life-force energy, and can cause lower back ache
Essential oils to balance the chakra: Jasmine and ylang ylang

3) Solar Plexus chakra (Manipura Chakra)

Location: Hollow area between the ribs
Colour associated: Yellow
Element associated: Fire
Physical function: Gastrointestinal system, stomach, liver and gall bladder, spleen, adrenal
Psychological function: Seat of emotion, both negative and positive emotion, centre of assertiveness.
Spiritual function: Intuition
If the chakra is weak or malfunctions: It can lower the immune system, and cause migraine, respiratory ailments, heart ailments, ulcer, high cholesterol, and hyper tension
Essential oils to balance chakra: Juniper, lemon and geranium

4) Heart Chakra (Anahata Chakra) 

Location: Centre of the chest
Colour associated: Green
Element associated: Air
Physical function: Heart, lungs and Thymus gland and circulatory system
Psychological function: Peace, serenity and sensitivity
Spiritual function: Unconditional and divine love, compassion, forgiveness
If the chakra is weak or malfunctions: Makes you selfish, ruthless, and causes heart conditions, lung problems, asthma and tuberculosis, irregular heartbeat, hysteria
Essential oils to balance the chakra: Rose and neroli

5) Throat Chakra (Vishuddhi Chakra)

Location: Centre of the throat
Colour associated: Blue
Element associated: Throat, thyroid and parathyroid glands, air tube, lymphatic system
Psychological function: Communication and self-expression
Spiritual function: Spiritual Bridge to the higher world
If the chakra is weak or malfunctions: It can cause goiter, sore throat, asthma, hyper and hypothyroid; can also cause weak communication skills, and lead to not speaking the truth, that is lies!
Essential oils to balance the chakra: Clove, benzoin, thyme.

6) Third Eye Chakra (Ajna Chakra)

Location: Between the eyebrows
Colour associated: Indigo
Element associated: Pure spiritual energy
Physical function: Pituitary, endocrine glands, spinal cord, ears, eyes, nose
Psychological function: Intelligence, thoughts and understanding
Spiritual function: Higher mental faculty, wisdom, insight
If the chakra is weak or malfunctions: It can cause ear infections, stuffy nose, sinusitis, inability to concentrate, and make one highly materialistic.
Essential oils to balance the chakra: Sandalwood, rosemary, basil.

7) Crown Chakra (Sahastrar Chakra)

Location: Top of the head
Colour associated: Electric violet
Physical function: Pineal gland, brain, cerebral cortex and nervous system.
Psychological function: Psychic ability, intuition and perception.
Spiritual function: Cosmic consciousness, self-realisation.
If the chakra is weak or malfunctions: It can cause diseases of pineal glands and brain which may include physical and psychological illness.
Essential oils to balance the chakra: Lavender, myrrh and frankincense

There are a lot of methods to diagnose the malfunctioning of the chakras. Aromatherapy is an effective tool for healing and strengthening them. Use the essential oil along with a carrier oil to massage around the affected area to correct a chakra imbalance. Alternatively, when a particular chakra needs to be strengthened, use the oils corresponding to that chakra in your bath water, in your diffuser and as a perfume. You will see visible changes once you have used it for a few days/weeks. Get your chakras checked again to see if it has been strengthened enough and then you can taper the usage of oil.